Local Philanthropists Honored For Leaving Their Legacy


They are role models of selfless giving for younger generations whose gifts are helping to ensure diverse causes will be viable for the future. Collectively they have committed to giving millions, but more importantly, they’ve committed to leaving their legacy. This is the common thread of the 21 honorees from this year’s Greater Cincinnati Planned Giving Council’s Voices of Giving Awards. They were all nominated by area non-profit organizations impacted by their selflessness, generosity and foresight.

“Greater Cincinnati is a generous, caring community and non-profit organizations are an especially important aspect of our lives,” Andrea Herzig, president of GCPGC told the audience at the Awards event. “Our Voices of Giving honorees have all taken the time for purposeful giving; planning their gift for generations they will never meet. This is the true meaning of altruistic philanthropy.”

Presenting sponsor for the GCPGC Voices of Giving Awards was the Josephine Schell Russell Chairtable Trust, PNC Bank, Trustee. The event was hosted by CET.

It was a real honor for me to be a part of the event for the second year, helping GCPGC share information about the honorees with the community.

(FOX19’s Dan Carroll, emcee, and Steve Hegge, event chair)

2009 Voices of Giving Award recipients:
(Note: one honoree chose to not be recognized publically)

William (posthumously) and LaVerne Stautberg, nominated by Santa Maria
Community Services
Mary Beth and Jim Foxworthy, nominated by the Deupree House
Dr. Corning and Mrs. Carol Benton, nominated by the Marjorie P. Lee Retirement
Nancy A. Creaghead Ph.D., nominated by the University of Cincinnati Foundation
George H. Musekamp, nominated by the American Cancer Society
Wilma K. McGrath (posthumously), nominated by the Catholic Inner-City Schools Education Fund
Ruth Upson, nominated by the Children’s Home of Cincinnati
Dr. and Mrs. Ira Abrahamson, nominated by the Cincinnati Art Museum
Dorothy Whitley Lang, nominated by the Wyoming School Foundation
Eva Jane Romaine Coombe (posthumously), nominated by Seven Hills School
Alice Sparks, nominated by Greater Cincinnati Television Educational Foundation CET
Marge Gallagher, nominated by Ronald McDonald House Charities of Greater Cincinnati
Paul Keidel, nominated by Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra
Henry ‘Bud’ Pogue IV (posthumously) and Betty Maupin Pogue, nominated by Northern Kentucky University
Robert Kanter, nominated by Jewish Federation of Cincinnati
Susanne Ernst Geier and Philip O. Geier Jr. (posthumously), nominated by United Way of Greater Cincinnati
Judy and Roger Short, nominated by The Wellness Community of Greater
Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky
Margaret Berning Wais, nominated by St. Rita School for the Deaf
Rev. Thomas Bokenkotter, nominated by The Athenaum of Ohio/Mount St. Mary’s Seminary

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Follow on Bloglovin

Don't miss hearing about Good Things! Register to receive my enewsletters.

* indicates required